The Importance of Influence

In today’s society it can be difficult to try and raise children in a Christian home. Temptation and sin is around every corner we turn. We cannot hide our children from it. I have noticed the older I get, more and more sin has become acceptable by society. Then my question becomes this; How am I to raise our two young boys in today’s society when things in this world that was once sinful and wrong, have become acceptable? It’s only by the blood of Jesus Christ.
As their mother I must stay vigilant in their lives. This expands from many areas. For example, who I allow to be in my children’s lives is very important to us as a family. If they have Christian influences, who will encourage my boys in the Lord, or instead will the person distract them from God. Our boys attend a public school here in our little town. I know that I cannot control everything that happens while they are there, but I can stay INVOLED. I get to know their teachers, staff, students and other parents. By staying involved, I am able to teach Gods Word to the seasons of their life they are in.  Drug and alcohol addictions begin with someone influencing another person to “just try it once.”  If I do not care about the influence people have on our boys, then I don’t care about our boys.    1849262032-quote-only-god-himself-fully-appreciates-the-influence-of-a-christian-mother-in-the-molding-of-character-billy-graham-74261quote-the-schools-the-courts-the-media-all-seem-determined-to-erase-christian-influence-from-bruce-l-shelley-124-4-0466I am not just a Christian mom trying to raise Christian boys. I am a Christian mom trying to raise Christian boys that will grow into Christian men. Having that Christian influence in their lives from a very young age is important. As a mom, it is my job to be their prayer warrior. I believe that my best parenting is done in prayer. I pray often that the Lord Jesus Christ will place Godly people in their lives.
The Example of Christ we are to be to others: “May the God of endurance and encouragement grant you to live in such harmony with one another, in accord with Christ Jesus, that together you may with one voice glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore welcome one another as Christ has welcomed you, for the glory of God.” –Romans 15:5-7 ESV

Leave a Reply

