Finding Rest

I have been a stay-at-home wife/mom for almost nine years now. I know how it feels when you get in a valley of the “never endings”. The never ending sleepless nights…the never ending house cleaning…and the never ending crying from your babies if they have colic. You find yourself in a valley of being stressed all the time, which then becomes depression. You just want to lock yourself in the bathroom to escape and try to get just one minute of complete silence. You just want to rest.
Take heart, it becomes easier! The rest I am talking about is probably not the rest you are thinking of. I am talking about finding rest in Jesus Christ. Psalm 62:5-6 NKJV says “My soul, wait silently for God alone, for my expectation is from Him. He only is my rock and my salvation; I shall not be moved.” When I was in that valley of my life I did not have salvation. I could not find rest in Jesus because I did not know Him. When He saved me, everything changed. I learned to find my rest in Him. Once I started carving a time out each day for Bible study and prayer my valley started becoming shallower. I laid the boys down for their nap, and I had myself some quiet time. During this time I begin in prayer, followed with reading the Word. It has disciplined me to rely on Him, and by doing so it spilled out into other areas of my life where I struggled. Everything started to become easier to handle. No more stress or depression.
“For my expectation is from Him.” Psalm 62:5b NKJV He expects us to find rest in Him. Jesus expects us to be loving, not stressed out. If you find yourself in this valley of “never ending” be comforted in knowing you are not alone. Generations of mothers know what you are going through. Turn to God in prayer, and you will find rest in Jesus. 17626137_195629180936027_963636386613898821_n

Leave a Reply

